Capsules, they aren’t just for medicine anymore

tumblr_lhve4qCKPE1qbfg7bo1_500I’ve read on various minimalist blogs all about creating a capsule wardrobe and over the last few months it has really sparked my interest. Mostly due to an intense desire to simplify, no let me scratch that, to create a morning routine that isn’t stressful and ending with me feeling less than confident in my clothing. Then you factor in the thrifty part of having a minimal wardrobe and now I’m really intrigued! 

I worked on mine over the weekend and followed the advice and tips from Caroline’s blog, Unfancy. She works with 37 total pieces per season and includes tops, bottoms, dresses, outerwear and shoes. Some capsule wardrobes include accessories as well. Since I don’t have a ton of accessories other than my scarves (which will have to be dealt with for my Fall capsule), I followed her method. I thought that it would be hard to even find 37 pieces at first but when you include work clothing (which is casual for the summer months) and shoes, it adds up fast! 

I ended up with the following items in my closet:

  • 5 dresses
  • 2 skirts
  • 5 pairs of pants
  • 2 pairs of jeans
  • 18 tops (mostly short-sleeved)
  • 5 pair of shoes 

This will also tie into my thrift store challenge as well; when Fall rolls around and I maybe have a need for some seasonal items, I’ll be buying them second hand. 

 

Leave a Reply

